Click to visit Veterinary Performance Services Home Page

Susan and Jade

Jade is a big, beautiful, grey Quarter Horse. She is 5 years old and Susan shows her in Western and English. We started seeing Jade in July of 2014 when she was tripping a lot and lame upfront. Susan felt like Jade's shoulders were out. When Dr. Christine examined Jade she discovered the not only were Jade's shoulders out but her back was also out. After the first adjustment, Susan discovered that Jade was moved more freely, was happier and more willing than before.

Since then Jade sees Dr. Christine every couple of months during her show season. Susan is also diligent about doing leg and neck stretches with Jade to help the adjustments hold longer and keep Jade loose.

Susan has also incorporated the neck stretcher into her exercise program with Jade. Susan feels the neck stretcher has taught Jade to bring her hind end up underneath her. Go to link for more information on the neck stretcher.

Dr. Christine has been a "miracle worker" for Jade.

Susan Buresh
(September 2015)

Verlene and Emma

VegaEmma is a seven year old Dachshund. She is the beloved pet of Don and Verlene Hanson. Like most Doxies, Emma is happy and active. In June, Emma injured her neck. Verlene found her with her back hunched, unable to turn her neck and head down, nose on the ground. Emma was also crying out in pain. Don and Verlene took Emma to their local vet. Emma's regular veterinarian was out of town and had someone filling in for him. The relief vet prescribed pain medication and suggested a visit to Dr. Christine.

Emma has seen Dr. Christine for four treatments of chiropractic, acupuncture and Magna Wave since June. Verlene said they noticed improvement after the first visit. Emma's back is no longer hunched. Her neck is free and she is almost off the pain medication. Emma does have to be careful not to be too overly active. Verlene makes sure Emma does her leg stretches and follow the treat stretch for her neck. Verlene and Don were so scared Emma would not recover. They are more than pleased.

(September 2015)

Teresa & Vega

VegaI first met Dr. Christine at the Iowa horse fair a few years ago. I had just bought my AQHA mare "Vega" a few months prior. I was having a hard time getting Vega to transition smoothly from a trot to a lope. Dr. Christine was giving a clinic and I was very impressed by her. I had Vega with me at the fair. I asked her if she could look at her and maybe give her an adjustment. It made all the difference in the world! She was a different horse. Dr. Christine has done an awesome job and I hope she knows how much Vega and I appreciate her. If you are looking for a horse chiropractor you won't be sorry with Dr. Christine.

Teresa Murray
Keokuk, Iowa
(August 2015)

Kelly and Hally

Hally is a happy, active Chocolate Lab. She is 11 years old and the pet of Kelly Shoudy. This past winter Hally slipped on the ice and began limping on her front leg. Kelly took Hally to the veterinarian. She was given doggy ibuprofen. It helped some but Hally still limped. Another trip back to the vet and Hally was given another drug but it made her sleepy. Kelly didn't like that his pet was drowsy all the time and still limping. He had heard some good things about acupuncture. He went online, Googled it and found Dr. Christine's website. After reading several of the testimonials, he called to make an appointment.

Hally was treated with chiropractic, acupuncture and Magna Wave therapies. Kelly noticed a difference in Hally after the first treatment. They returned for a 2nd appointment and Hally is back to running and jumping in the park. Kelly admitted he doesn't have time to do the stretches Dr. Christine suggested but Hally takes lots of walks. Kelly has noticed Hally is no longer stiff or sore and acts like she is five. Kelly operates his own business and often takes Hally to work. He reports that Hally is almost too active for the office. The results seen in Hally have been "amazing" and Hally's "quality of life is dramatically better, that's what I was looking for" says Kelly.

Kelly also tried the Magna Wave on his shoulders while holding Hally during her treatments. He noted that his shoulders feel much better.

Kelly(August 2015)

Cindy and Penny and Reno

Penny and RenoPenny, our 8 year old AQHA/APHA mare, was diagnosed with navicular syndrome at age 5. From the initial diagnosis, Dr. Christine has been an integral part of our strategy to manage the disease, alleviate the pain and slow the progression. We believe in the application of traditional veterinary medicine as well as alternative therapies to address not only the pain and lameness in the navicular area but also the secondary symptoms that show up in her back, shoulders, and poll. Dr. Christine can identify these sore spots and administer effective chiropractic treatment resulting in a horse that is more comfortable and willing. The stretching exercises she taught us provide additional therapies to use at home in between treatments. Both Dr. Christine and I have observed Penny is a different horse now than when she first began chiropractic treatment 3 years ago. She's a sweet little mare with a big heart and a willing attitude - with Dr. Christine's help,she remains active in our ranch horse activities.

Reno is our one-in-a-million, been there/done that gelding. Throughout his roping and ranching career he's never taken a lame step but for one morning last year when he came out of his stall with an ever so slight drag of his right hind foot. Fortunately, Dr. Christine was going to be in our area the very next day and I was able to double up on our already scheduled appointment for Penny. Sure enough, Reno had thrown his back out! With just a couple of chiropractic treatments, Reno was back in action and hasn't had an issue since. Thank you Dr. Christine!

Cindy Harwood
Hickory Grove Ranch
(May 2015)

Robin and Joe

JoeJoe is an 11 year old Boxer who is a part of our family. Easter weekend, Joe couldn't get up, eat or go outside to potty by himself. We took Joe to our veterinarian who diagnosed him with Canine Degenerative Myelopathy. CDM is a progressive disease of the spinal cord and presents with hind leg weakness and incoordination. It affects dogs over 7 years old and is commonly seen in German Shepherds and Boxers but affects other breeds as well.

Our veterinarian's receptionist told us she had heard of others who used alternative therapies on their dogs with good success. We figured we had nothing to lose and brought Joe to see Dr. Christine.

Dr. Christine treated Joe with chiropractic, acupuncture and Magna Wave therapies. After the first treatment Joe rested quietly the rest of the day. The following evening Joe was able to get up and walk on his own! He was wobbly and weak but he was walking in his own. As the days progressed he got better and better.

At home we have followed up with short, leash controlled walks. We also do range of motion exercises with Joe's neck and legs twice a day. Dr. Christine showed us these exercises and they are easier to do.

We highly recommend Dr. Christine to many others as her therapies are non-invasive and what do you have to lose!

Robin(May 2015)

Neo and Marilyn

NeoLast fall I purchased a 19 year old retired rope horse that I wanted to use on trails. He is a registered paint but looks all Quarter Horse. His name is Neo. My best friend had him since he was 3. She has been roping on him all the time that she owned him. I was finally able to purchase him and knew that there might be some problems with him because of the age and the year's team roping on him. I took him to the shoer and found out that we couldn't trim his back feet because his back hurt so badly. He would not let us lift up his back legs.

I knew about Dr. Christine Woodford from a previous show in Cedar Rapids at Kirkwood. She had helped my horse when he tried to colic at a horse show. I contacted her and she has helped Neo improve tremendously. Neo would not lay down because it was so hard for him to get up with his back out. He now lies down with no problem and is able to get up much better and walk off. The shoer is able to pick up his feet now and trim him. He runs and plays a lot more than he used to and you can see that he is feeling much better now.

Every time Dr. Woodford worked on Neo, you could tell how much better he felt. There wasn't so much pain in his eyes like before. When Dr. Woodford was working on him to relieve those areas, he would lick his lips every time she had done something right for him. It was so funny and a relief to know that the chiropractic treatments were working for him. He now backs out of a trailer much better where before he had to be turned around because he couldn't back out.

Horses are a lot like people. They need to have yearly maintenance done on them just like humans. We, as humans, sometimes have to have those adjustments ourselves. It is very important to have the chiropractic treatment done to make them comfortable and perform the best for you so you can enjoy your ride.

Thank you Dr. Christine Woodford for taking care of Neo and Carla for being so helpful in scheduling the appointments and any questions I had. Your name VIP does say a lot because you are treating everyone like a Very Important Person.

Looking forward to the trails and enjoying the summer with Neo and friends.

(April 2015)

Jackie and Lily

Lily It was love at first sight when we met Lily, a sweet 11-year old American Eskimo mix. Lily was found as a stray in Florida. She made her way to Iowa thanks to Last Hope Rescue. She was living in foster care for about a year before we adopted her in January. Lily is deaf due to an untreated ear infection and has cataracts in both eyes. She has nerve damage to her front legs and ACL damage to her back legs. She also broke one of her back legs.

After observing Lily walk, we knew Lily could benefit from Dr. Christine's services. Dr. Christine provided treatment to our first dog, Belle. Lily was very stiff when Dr. Christine first examined her. However, after just a couple treatments, Lily was walking much better and was able to sit (something she could not do before). With Dr. Christine's treatments, Lily has improved her mobility so she can just be a dog and enjoy a dog's life of exploring her environment, following the trail of a good scent and walking with her pack. The combination of Lily's unyielding spirit and determination and Dr. Christine's expertise and care have led to a high quality of life for a former stray from Florida.

Jackie Mason

(April 2015)

Patti Coble and Red

RedDr. Woodford has a reputation of being one of the best horse veterinarians in the state of Iowa. She is very forward thinking and is an equine dentist. To me having a veterinarian who is also an equine dentist is very important, especially with an older horse. Red was a rescue and had never had any dental work done in his entire life. His mouth was a mess and he had some past issues coming out of the sedation. Dr. Woodford was able to sedate Red to the point where he was comfortable with the procedure but not overly sedated. Having his teeth floated was a much more comfortable procedure for Red and it also allowed Dr. Woodford to do a good job because Red was comfortable.

Dr. Woodford does a tremendous job! She is very kind and gentle. For me, it is important when administering sedation that Dr. Woodford was a veterinarian. Secondly, she has the training to handle a problem if something should go wrong. This is especially important with an older horse.

In addition, her equipment seemed to be much more up to date and gentler looking than other equipment I have seen in the past. Her love for animals is apparent and she treats your animal with kindness and respect.

Red left this world on December 1, 2014. I choose to use the phrase we "set him free". It was devastating for us.

(March 2015)

Cathy and Gage Buenzow

GageHi! I'm Gage. I am a Deutsch Langhaar. I love to hunt pheasants, ducks, rabbits and just about anything else that runs! Last spring I hurt my iliopsoas muscle. I don't know what that is, but it hurt when I ran and played. My mom talked to some people who said Dr. Christine could help me feel better. We went to see her in May and she poked me with some little needles. I didn't like it at first, but after a little bit it was very calming. I just wanted to lie down and relax. Dr. Christine was very nice to me, I like her very much. (I also like to visit her office and see the horses, but they are big and scary.) After about 5 visits I was feeling much better and everyone said I could run and play again just like before. I want to thank Dr. Christine for helping me and tell others to go see her if they have a hurt iliopsoas muscle. She really cares about us pups and knows how to make us feel better. Carla is super great too! She makes it very easy for my mom to schedule our appointments and we love the text reminders too! We recommend both of them, paws down!

(February 2015)

Red River Ranch owned by Jan Bringham

A Sudden InvestorDr Woodford has been taking care of my horses and horses in my care for several years. I can honestly say that without Dr Woodford on "our team" our horses would not be as successful as they have been. Whether it is diagnoses of lameness and chiropractic treatments, acupuncture or Magnawave-Dr. Woodford has been a key player in our success.

Regular chiropractic treatments help our horses perform at their best. When we know we have a show coming up our horses receive a "tune up" from Dr Woodford. 5 year old Appaloosa gelding A Sudden Investor (Indy) owned by Janice Weyland has been doing very well at the Midwest Winter Challenge shows at the Iowa Equestrian Center this winter. Indy gets regular chiropractic checks to keep him performing his best.

A Sudden Investor winning top 10 at 2014 Appaloosa Nationals in Trail with Janice Weyland.

(February 2015)

Holly and Lucky

LuckyLucky is a beloved family pet. He is an 11 Ĺ yr. old Bichon/Maltese cross. Back in October Lucky had sudden onset of loss of function in his rear legs. We took Lucky to our vet for x-rays. The x-rays showed spinal disease, herniated discs, common to his breed. This was causing the paralysis. Our vet gave us the option of kennel rest or surgery. Surgery would be hard on Lucky, due to his age. It is also very expensive. So we opted for 3 weeks kennel rest and medication.

A friend told us about Dr. Christine. Dr. Christine treated Lucky with chiropractic, acupuncture and Magna Wave. Lucky saw Dr. Christine every week for 3 weeks. Every week Lucky showed improvement and gained back the use of his rear legs! He is still a little wobbly and lacks control at times but he is able to walk and run.

We carefully monitor Lucky's activity at home. Dr. Christine has suggested no steps or jumping on and off furniture. We are surprised and elated that the treatments have worked so well!

(December 2014)

Kelsey and Captain

Captain I got Captain about 5 months ago. He is a 9 year old off the track Thoroughbred. Captain had about 2 years off before I got him, since then he has been put back into heavy work/training. I could tell he was having back pain and was very sore. He was pinning his ears back and tossing his head at the sight of his saddle. Before Captain's 2nd appointment with Dr. Woodford, I spoke with Carla about trying acupuncture along with his adjustment. To be truthful I wasn't quite sure how or even if the acupuncture would work but it was worth trying to make Captain less sore. Captain was so incredibly sore when Dr. Woodford began working on him. He was kicking and balking out. I had never seen him like that. When she was done adjusting him she began the acupuncture. Captain was such a trooper throughout the entire process and Dr. Woodford let me know step by step what she was doing and how he may react. After an exciting 20 or so minutes of acupuncture I turned him out in our indoor arena. He ran and then rolled repeatedly. He felt so good. He was so much more relaxed then he was before she began working on him. A few days later, I put him back to work. I can't even begin to describe how great he felt. He is moving better, picking up his canter leads and using his entire body unlike before. Tacking Captain up has become a much more enjoyable experience for us both. I cannot thank Dr. Christine enough for what she has done for my guy in just two visits. He is a much happier horse and I am thrilled with how much he has progressed! Thanks again!

(December 2014)

Muriel and Nushka

Nushka Nushka is a three year-old Rhodesian Ridgeback. She shows in conformation. When Nushka was 13 months old she suffered a broken leg. She had surgery and had a plate put in to aid in aligning the bones. It was a long road to healing for Nushka. Muriel, Nushka's owner, sought out physical therapy and rehab from some of the best veterinary practices throughout the Midwest. Despite Muriel's extra efforts, as the leg had healed, it still turned out slightly and Nushka was stiff gaited.

After a year of searching for therapies to help Nushka, Muriel found Dr. Christine in April of 2014. After a lengthy discussion of the case history, Dr. Christine referred Nushka to Dr. McCauley, DVM at TOPS Veterinary Rehabilitation in Grayslake, IL. Dr. McCauley, one of the leading veterinarians in the nation in canine rehabilitation, found Nushka had several areas of muscle and joint strain from compensating after she broke her leg, including a strained iliopsoas muscle in the left groin area. Dr. McCauley recommended continued chiropractic and acupuncture therapy with Dr. Christine and specific strength building exercises for Nushka to do at home.

Nushka has had a long road to recovery but Muriel has always persisted in finding the best therapies to aid Nushka. Muriel is now starting to see all her dedication pay off as Nushka is standing straighter and traveling much more comfortably.

(November 2014)

Kathy Jones

Jones Calf Jones Hog Jones DogThe Jones Family has used VIPsvet's services since 2009. We first had the pleasure of working on Kathy's show horses. Over the years, Dr. Christine's therapies have helped the Jones' multiple species in the show ring. The Jones' success comes from quality livestock, hard work and seeking the best care for their animals. The paragraph below was written by Kathy and is evidence of her dedication to providing every component essential for the success of their show animals.

We always make sure that Dr. Woodford adjusts all of our show animals especially before the big shows. Why wouldn't you give yourself every advantage possible in the show ring? If your calf or hog can't stride out when they walk or if they roll their back you don't have a chance of making it to the winners circle. If you are putting everything you have into showing the best you can, doesn't it make sense to get your livestock adjusted? If they are comfortable they will perform better for you. We have been successful in the show ring but we also have a great support system behind us every step of the way and Dr. Christine Woodford is always there in our corner.

(November 2014)

Deb and Minnie

MinnieMinnie Mouse is a 10 year old black, Pug. She was hit by a car when she was 4 months old and broke her hip. Minnie healed with only some slight stiffness in her hip. We knew as she aged she would have some problems with mobility. This spring, I noticed Minnie's back leg dragging. The harsh winter and lack of exercise had taken its toll. She was having enough difficulty getting around that I thought we may have to put her to sleep. I took Minnie to my local veterinarian with minimal results.

Dr. Christine adjusts our mounted shooting horses. I remembered a story I read in one of her newsletters. So I had Dr. Christine treat Minnie with chiropractic, acupuncture and Magna Wave therapies. After the first treatment, I noticed Minnie was able to move her leg forward and was steadier on her feet. She was moving around more and had less trouble going to the bathroom. I swam Minnie in the bath tub as Dr. Christine suggested. After 2 more treatments, Minnie is running and enjoying life again! She still has that slight stiffness in her hip but I am very happy and impressed with her improvement. I feel Minnie is much happier too. I truly believe without Dr. Christine's treatment and care, Minnie wouldn't be here with us.

Deb Vesperman

Myra Crawford Show Horses

MyraMyra Crawford Show Horses is located in Elberon, Iowa. We specialize in halter and long line. I enjoy working with clients and their horses to achieve their showing goals. I have shown multiple futurity winners and medallion earners. My most recent accomplishments are 2011 Reserve World Champion Non Pro Longe Liner, 2012 Reserve World Champion Non Pro Most Colorful, 2013 Reserve National Champion Non Pro Most Colorful, and 2014 Reserve World Champion Open FPD Mares.

Since 2011, I have used Dr. Christine's chiropractic services. I had a 2yr old that was dropping a lead. He started carrying his head high and became very resistant traveling to the right. I saw an immediate response from him after being adjusted! He was no longer resisting and was softer in his neck and face. We were both so happy! Since then, I have taken other horses to Dr. Christine when they are having similar issues during their training.

Dr. Christine has suggested stretching exercises for the legs and neck. She also has given me a back strengthening exercise to incorporate into my training program. I try to follow up with the instructions she gives me that are recommended for each horse! Dr. Christine is great to work with. She is pleasant when working on my horses. She is also always just a phone call away for advice. Carla does a great job getting back to me and so very patient working around my crazy schedule!

Myra Crawford

Bernard, Ruth and Paisley

PaisleyPaisley is an eight year old, female Boxer who shows in Confirmation, Obedience and Rally competitions. Early this spring, Paisley started vomiting with abdominal pain. She wouldn't eat, didn't feel well and rapidly lost weight. She was taken to her regular veterinarian and diagnosed with pancreatitis, an inflammation of the pancreas. A high fat diet is often an exasperating cause. Diagnostic radiographs revealed that Paisley had arthritis in her spine. She was given medication to alleviate her symptoms and put on a low fat diet with more exercise. There are no proven medications for pancreatitis and no cures.

Ruth was concerned about the arthritis in Paisley's spine so she did some research into chiropractic and found Dr. Christine. Paisley was treated with chiropractic, acupuncture and Magna Wave therapies. She has shown a big improvement in her movement. Paisley even won "Best Veteran" in Conformation competition this summer!

Ruth stretches Paisley's legs 3-4 times a week as Dr. Christine has shown her. She also does hiking and rally training with Paisley to augment Dr. Christine's program. Paisley sees Dr. Christine on a monthly basis to keep her limber and feeling good!

Willy is a 10 year old quarter horse. He means the world to me and we enjoy barrel racing together. He sometimes gets tight in his poll, neck and back as a lot of barrel horses do. I am very diligent about keeping Willy feeling his best so I take him to Dr. Christine for chiropractic adjustments. When Willy leaves her office after a treatment he is a much happier horse and I feel good knowing he is not hurting when we enter the arena. I am very thankful to have such a great equine specialist to keep my barrel racing partner feeling great. Thank you so much Dr. Christine!

Tony Kobusch and Anthony Brown

Hank, a year and a half old Great Dane, is very friendly with people, children and other dogs and is also one of the biggest lap dogs you'll ever meet! At the end of July last year, Hank and Tony were at one of the local dog parks, interacting with some of the other people and their fur kids. Hank was running pretty fast, caught one of his front paws in a divot and ended up landing face first in the grass. Tony examined him immediately and Hank seemed fine. He actually got up and kept running around with the other dogs. Anthony and Tony continued to monitor Hank the next day, and he still seemed to be getting around like normal. On the second night, Hank seemed to have some discomfort and whimpered anytime he attempted to turn over, before finally falling asleep. Around 2:00 am, he was in extreme discomfort and was whimpering almost nonstop. Hank ended up being admitted to the Eastern Iowa Veterinary Specialty Center for an exam, was diagnosed with Soft Tissue Trauma and given medicine for pain relief. It was also advised to restrict his exercise/outdoor activity to bathroom breaks only, for the next 3-4 weeks. Tony had reached out to an old friend, Lauren Gronemeyer, who was working on completing Veterinary School. She also had a lot of experience with animals, from cats and dogs to birds and fish. She recommended taking Hank to see Dr. Woodford, for possible Chiropractic and Acupuncture care. After visiting the VIPS website and reading a handful of the testimonials, Anthony and Tony called to set up an appointment with Dr. Woodford.

Since his first appointment back in August of last year, Hank has seen Dr. Woodford for Chiropractic and Acupuncture care every 5-6 weeks, along with Magna Wave treatment during each appointment. This wave helps to regenerate damaged tissue and is effective in relieving muscle soreness.

Other than wanting to constantly walk around during the treatments, Hank has responded very well! His range of motion is getting better with each treatment. Hank's neck, which was the area of most concern, has healed considerably.

At home, we work on range of motion exercises such as stretching his paws and legs. This tends to be easiest when Hank is sprawled out on the couch, sleeping. We simply take a paw or leg and gently move it around in a circular motion, to help stretch it out and increase blood flow to the tissues.

We couldn't be happier with Dr. Woodford! She is very compassionate with her work and is a true advocate for all animals, big or small. Dr. Woodford is knowledgeable in what she does and is great with Hank. Carl, her assistant, is fantastic as well, and scheduling our appointments could not be easier thanks to her! We would recommend these two, paws down!


It may seem odd to some that I would write a testimonial for Dr. Christine when I am employed by her. Of course, I am going to say something good! Well, I can remember when she first told me that she was going to pursue animal chiropractic. I said, "I don't believe in that! How can you move a horse's spine?" I am a natural born skeptic. I have to see it to believe it! That was 8 years ago. My horses have been "practiced" on when Dr. Christine needed to develop her technique. I started to see and feel changes in my horse's performance; they were no longer stiff in one direction or they readily and happily picked up a lead. I was starting to become a believer! Gracie is an eight year old Quarter Horse mare that runs barrels for a living. She has a lot of natural talent. Barrel racing is very demanding on the horse's body. I have learned over the last 2 years to closely observe Gracie as she "tells" me when she is in need of an adjustment or joint injections. I believe if we take the time to pay attention to our horses they do communicate with us through their actions. Also, I feel that it is my job to help her feel good so she can reach her fullest potential. Gracie receives chiropractic, acupuncture and Magna Wave treatments on a monthly basis. After a weekend of barrel racing Gracie gets the next day off and the following day I make sure I observe her on the lunge line. A couple weeks ago, I was watching her trot around and thought "her topline is rigid". She was scheduled to see Dr. Christine later that week. When Dr. Christine worked on Gracie, she was very tight in the back besides her normal areas that plague her. We gave Gracie her regular treatments. That weekend Gracie competed in the Iowa NBHA State Show. She felt really great, Friday she ran 5th out of 218 and was Reserve Champion in the 2nd Division on Sunday! Thank you Christine for helping Gracie feel her best so she can perform to her top potential!

Carla Baumgartner

Susan and Sam

Sam is a happy and active 8 year old Golden Retriever. Sam loves to chase birds and romp on the beach. Susan is a balloonist and Sam rides along in the chase vehicle. In 2011 Sam was involved in a car accident when the balloon chase vehicle she was riding in was struck by another car. She was thrown about the vehicle. Sam suffered a lame front leg and sore back.

Susan was referred to Dr. Christine by a friend and her hairdresser. Sam was treated with chiropractic, acupuncture and Magna Wave. Susan has followed thru with monthly appointments to ensure that Sam is able to be more mobile to run and jump and lead an active lifestyle. Susan also does neck and leg stretches with massage at home.

Sam does not like to visit the vet's office but she enjoys coming to see Dr. Christine!

ShiaMike and Levi Flitsch

We raise and show cattle in Central City. We were referred to Dr. Christine last year by a friend who also shows cattle. We had a show heifer that was not walking correctly. I was skeptical at first. When Dr. Christine was working on our heifer I kept thinking "I hope this doesn't mess her up". Wasn't I surprised when our heifer walked out of the office better than she walked in! This spring we had a heifer, Shia that developed a bump on her back. It was tender and swollen. She would get mad and kick when that area was brushed or touched. We took Shia to Dr. Christine and she treated Shia with chiropractic, acupuncture and Magna Wave therapy.

After one treatment the swelling went down. Also, Shia stood quietly to be hosed and brushed. Levi also does belly lift exercises with Shia to strengthen her back muscles.

"Dr. Christine is amazing!"

bowskiMy name is Mary Erschen and my husband and I own FidoFit in Dubuque, Iowa. FidoFit is a structured daycare and boarding facility featuring an indoor canine fitness gym with pet specific equipment. Our gym services are enjoyed by dogs of all ages, sizes and abilities. It was thrilling for our business when we met Dr. Christine Woodford. She presented two workshops at FidoFit. The first workshop was a Dog Owners Workshop. The second workshop was for area veterinarians that offered them continuing education units. What a great opportunity for learning! It was fun meeting veterinarians and pet owners who share similar interests in pet care. Dr. Woodford then added the bonus benefit of scheduling monthly appointments at FidoFit. Our clients greatly appreciate Dr. Woodford's services. Mark and I also utilize Dr. Woodford's services for our own pets. Our two geriatric Boxers, a three year old Boxer, and a two year old French Bulldog. The have all benefitted from chiropractic, acupuncture and Magna Wave therapy for athletic maintenance and specific age related issues. Our most memorable experience of Dr. Woodford's services was for my husband's Wheaton Terrier, "Tchaibowsky" (Bowsky). Bowsky, 12 years old, was diagnosed with prostate cancer. Our veterinarian, Dr. Bergfeld, at Key West Veterinarian Clinic, suggested adding Dr. Woodford's services while continuing care with her clinic as well as a 24 hour specialty clinic in Cedar Rapids. Hearing Dr. Bergfeld's recommendation for Bowsky, I recalled witnessing the remarkable comfort measures and quality of life that Dr. Woodford provided a pet owned by one of our clients, June Hass. June had an Airedale named Lance. Lance was diagnosed with the same type of cancer. We immediately scheduled Bowsky for his first appointment. He responded well to chiropractic, acupuncture, Magna Wave therapy and a change in diet. Several months past his cancer diagnosis, Bowsky developed Idiopathic Vestibular Disease. Symptoms of unknown cause and sudden onset are most commonly seen in geriatric dogs. Symptoms include loss of balance, staggering gait and tilted head. I began to research this disease. Ironically, the same week Bowsky presented symptoms; I saw a television clip featuring this disease. All the sources related that there is no known medical veterinary treatment. Some of my books, newsletters and the television clip mentioned acupuncture could provide relief for some dogs suffering from this condition. Dr. Woodford targeted Bowsky's next acupuncture for the issues specifically related to his Idiopathic Vestibular Disease. Bowsky's symptoms resolved immediately after acupuncture. His head tilt did not disappear but was greatly improved. He offered Dr. Woodford a shake off and play bow in thanksgiving! Bowsky continued to see Dr. Woodford monthly while living a happy quality life, nine months past his cancer diagnosis. Bowsky passed February 9, 2014, sleeping with his head on the same pillow as his beloved "dad", Mark. Thank you Dr. Woodford for the care you provided our precious Tchaibowsky (Bowsky). Your care improved his quality of life and provided obvious comfort measures well past his predicted prognosis.

Mary Erschen

allieAllie is a 12 year old Pinto. We enjoy trail riding. This winter Allie started to rush into her canter. She also would try to bite me when saddling. I wanted to rule out any physical pain. I scheduled an appointment with Dr. Christine for a chiropractic adjustment. Allie threw a fit during most of the time of her adjustment, tossing her head and pushing on me. Then Dr. Christine found just the right spot and Allie stood there perfectly still!

Allie is more comfortable when asked to canter. She is listening and responding. I am following the stretching exercises and using the neck stretcher to strengthen her back.

One of the things I like about Dr. Christine is her all-around knowledge of horses. While she was working on Allie we talked about how Allie acts out when I saddle her. From her behavior and our conversation, Dr. Christine thought it may be a behavioral problem. I feel very comfortable asking Dr. Christine her opinion as she has a wealth of practical and medical knowledge.

Nikki Thummel

Daisy Mae is a 6 year old English Mastiff. When she was quite young, she had two surgeries on the same back leg so there have always been issues with that particular leg. We had been taking Daisy to FidoFit in Dubuque for physio therapy (which has been wonderful). Mary at FidoFit suggested we try Dr. Christine's services on Daisy to enhance the therapy work. Since mid-2013, Daisy has been receiving monthly chiropractic, acupuncture and Magna Wave treatments from Dr. Christine. Daisy has had an amazing response! We believe these treatments make her feel better and "loosen" her up. For the first time in several years, Daisy runs more and has more energy. We do regular walking and occasional stretching with Daisy at home. As a 6 year old Mastiff, she is considered middle-aged. Our goal is to keep her moving and engaged in as much as possible. The chiropractic and acupuncture treatments were a "new" concept for us with Daisy. We weren't sure about it at first. We whole-heartedly endorse it now. Between the efforts and attention of Mary & Mark at FidoFit, Dr. Christine, and our regular vets at PedMed, we feel that Daisy has the best of care. Everyone who provides care for Daisy is quite attentive to her needs and quick to address our questions and concerns.

Kim Brandt

Rhymer is a 10 year old Warmblood. I have had Rhymer about 6 months. Three months ago, he starting kicking out at the canter departs. He was visibly very tense and defensive in his back. He was reluctant to go forward. We could tell he was uncomfortable somewhere.

Dr Christine worked on Rhymer the end of December and adjusted his back and neck. She shared he was very tight, and sensitive in the SI joint area. He responded to the treatment immediately. Dr Christine put us on a program of 2 weeks of ground work, lounging him in a Pessoa balancing system, carrot stretches, followed by 2 weeks of long and low riding.

The next visit was at the end of January. Dr Christine commented on how much better Rhymer seemed even standing in the cross ties. He was not nearly as defensive of his back and had increased muscle tone on his top line.

Overall, I am so pleased with the results of the chiro work with my horse and I think he is a happier guy as well :-) Thank you again Dr Christine!

Kelly Kramer

CassyDr. Christine asked me to write something for her newsletter. Iíve written three drafts and put each in the garbage bin. Iím flattered that she asked, but Iím not a writer. Iím a crazy goat lady (if you ask my husband), a mom, a Senior Branch Office Administrator, a 4-H leader & member of our fair association.

If I were to hear you talk about your horse and reply, "Itís just a horse", you would automatically not think too highly of me as a person. But I know that every animal is special, some more than others, because I was raised on a farm. Iím here to tell you that Cassy (our goat) is not just a goat.

Grown men could not get this goat to cooperate in the show ring (yes, we show goats). She would drop her head and "bulldoze" her way around, and when you tried to set her legs square when she didnít do it automatically, she would blow a gasket flipping her back end around. Gee, there are a couple of similarities in goat attitude and horse attitude! I had to have this goat! I couldnít write a check for her, Iíd never paid more than $350 for a goat and her asking price was over 6 times that!! So how did she end up in my barn? Sweat equity & a lot of it. So when you work hard for something, you do everything you can to keep it in great shape.

A few months ago Cassy started aborting her kids. I suspected she was rammed by another goat as she had kidded live twins the year before. She wasnít due for another week or two, so I knew I was in trouble and called my goat vet. He had me check to see if she was dilated, and I could barely get a couple of fingers in the cervix. Immediately I started massaging her tailhead ligaments and did cervical stimulation. After 20 minutes I called the vet back and told him he better head my way. By the time he arrived 25 minutes later, I had managed to pull the first dead kid. Iíve now worked for 45 minutes and we werenít done. The vet went in and couldnít get ahold of the second. I tried with no success. By this time, my daughter is out with Cassyís head in her lap trying to comfort her. We put her over a bale of hay and now my husband is standing there too, making sure Cassy doesnít fall off the side while we try to extract the 2nd dead kid. After close to an hour, the vet & I had 2 front legs but couldnít get the head to stay in position, so we were forced to pull it that way. After the 2nd was out, the vet went back in and there was a 3rd, and he worked it in to position but couldnít get his hand through the cervix while hanging on to the kid. I pulled the 3rd and he went in to check for uterine tears. Iíve now been in & out of this goat for over an hour & 45 minutes. She was stressed and we were all worried. We treated here with meds and let her rest. There was too much stress! (We didnít do a C-section because goat survival rate from a C-section is not good.)

After a couple of days and her not wanting to get up, I had my daughter help me pull Cassy to the garage on a sled, where it would be easier for me to continue to treat her. My husband was gone on travel & my vet returned and we hit her with additional drugs. It was a waiting game and we were approaching a week of her being down and not wanting to eat. Now I made my urgent call to Dr. Christine. When it came time for Cassyís appointment, I backed the trailer up to the garage, made a ramp and drug her up the ramp using a tarp wrapped around her. We got to the clinic and Dr. Christine had to treat her out in the trailer because she couldnít walk, let alone get up. I was hopeful but Iím sure Dr. Christine thought I was just CRAZY! Cassy was at deaths doorÖ she had that odor. Dr. Christine worked her magic (acupuncture, magna-wave, chiropractic) and gave me exercises I could do at home. I thanked her and told her my goal was to have Cassy walk in for her next appointment a week later. Yep, Dr. Christine definitely thinks Iím crazy!

Two days and Cassy was standing! Iíd place a bale of shavings under her in case her legs gave out, but she was standing! The next day she took her first steps out of her pen. At her 2nd appointment, Cassy walked into the clinic and Dr. Christine was amazed. Granted, she was far from the 2011 Iowa State Fair Grand Champion 4-H Meat Goat Doe and Grand Champion Percentage Doe, but she has improved and continues to improve.

So why didnít I give up and have Cassy humanely euthanized? Because she is the goat that has fought everyone and everything, but was also the goat that gave my daughter opportunity. My daughter was not big on showmanship, but that day in 2011, handling Cassy in around the showring she developed confidence and skill. I cried when she won because she worked with Cassy almost every day for 5 months leading up to the fair. My daughter didnít give up and when Cassy was down, I wasnít about to give up on her because I knew just how much fight was in this goat!

I canít thank Dr. Christine enough for her treatment of Cassy and believing in her treatment methods, even if she thought it might have come too late for Cassy, she didnít let on. Itís been a tough winter with way too much cold, but weíre hanging in there. We havenít put the weight back on yet, but that will come with the lush grass of spring. In the mean time we keep Cassy blanketed and keep the feed & hay (& treats) coming!

Nikko & PrincePrince and Nikko earn their keep as trail horses. I noticed the boys were having some "problems". I had used an equine chiropractor in Colorado. An internet search led me to Dr. Christine Woodford.

Prince, owned by Lisa Kruidenier, was always mean and crabby towards his pasture mates. When Dr. Christine examined him she found his poll and TMJ to be out of alignment. She told me "imagine having a migraine every day". Dr. Christine adjusted Prince and to my amazement he became a different horse. Prince was more relaxed and pleasant. He was no longer the pasture bully!

Nikko, owned by Teri Juhl, was purchased as a yearling and came with a T-post scar on his right hindquarter. Nikko always held his tail clamped, was short strided, weak in the hindquarters and never bucked when playing with the other horses. After seeing Dr. Christine, Nikko has become free moving in the hind end and bucks and kicks with the other horses when playing! His hindquarters have also muscled up and filled out!

I have Dr. Christine come monthly and her adjustments keep all the boys feeling and looking great!

Lisa Kruidenier
Teri Juhl

ZiggyMy 12 year-old Pug, Ziggy was diagnosed with hip dysplasia and arthritis many years ago. To ensure the best quality of life in his golden years, I take him to Dr. Christine Woodford. Her treatments consist of a chiropractic adjustment, acupuncture and Magna Wave. Ziggy can walk poorly due to his hip problems and arthritis, but with his monthly treatment with Dr. Christine the problems subside and he is able to enjoy life.

I highly recommend Dr. Christine. Dr. Christine is caring, compassionate and effective. She has a great presence with Ziggy and she does a marvelous job treating him.

Thank you very much Dr. Christine!

Meghan Brewer

MackieMackie is a 12 year old female boxer who came to Dr. Christine for help with tight hips and lack of mobility in her neck. With one treatment she was able to fully move her head side to side and her cervical spine was able to lengthen so she could hold her head high. Due to the tightness in Mackieís hips she preferred to stand or lie down. Sitting was something she had not done in months, even for her favorite treat. Following her first treatment she came home and was sitting so pretty on her favorite rug and holding her head with freedom to move her neck. We are so thankful to Dr. Christine and her gift to help mature dogs gain increase movement in their joints. Her talents gave our Mackie brighter eyes, more spunk and energy to enjoy life. Dr. Christine, thank you very much for sharing your time and expertise with our beloved animals.

Jen and Mackie

MaggieAround the end of May, 2012, our Cocker Spaniel, Maggie developed an immune-mediated disease. Her little body began attacking itself. She went from walking 5 or 6 half mile trips around the block to barely making it to the end of our street. We were lucky that we caught it in time but the treatment of Prednisone caused her to almost double her weight. She was had renewing signs of energy when her right hind leg went limp on a walk. I picked her up and rushed her to our vet and they determined she had an ACL, (anterior cruciate ligament), or knee injury in terms that I can understand. Their resolution was to have surgery as soon as she would be strong enough to handle it.

We had had a Cocker Spaniel before and she had undergone acupuncture with excellent results. We were determined to see if we could locate someone that could help her while she was still recuperating from the immune disease. We were fortunate enough to locate Dr. Christine Woodford. She performed acupuncture, magna wave and chiropractic care on her. Maggie responded well and on one of her check ups with her regular vet, they had forgotten all about her leg until I mentioned it to them. They were impressed with the results.

Fast forward to this summer. We were looking forward to a normal summer this year, but Maggie needed to have a growth removed on a front paw. Again while recuperating, she injured her other hind leg with the same prognosis as the other. One treatment later with Dr. Woodford and Maggie was up and going on all fours again, better than ever. I was amazed since she could barely toe touch when Dr. Woodford saw her. I think even Dr. Woodford was amazed. Itís great to see her running around again, just as fast as ever. This is truly a miracle and we are thankful that Maggie responds so well to the care that she administers. We definitely want the best of care for her and are thankful that we are able to find noninvasive care that works and is reasonably priced too. Thank you Dr. Woodford and Maggie thanks you too.

Mike, Shelley and Maggie Massell

In January Izzy and I were playing tug-o-war on the bed. She caught her foot in a blanket and yelped. This must have been the straw that broke the camels back so to speak. When I took Izzy to her veterinarian, he said she had disc pain. We tried a round of steriod shots. My final straw came when I laid with Izzy on the floor and she whimpered continually. I felt I was going to have to put her down than see her in constant pain. I have used a chiropractor for myself so I figured why not for my dog. I got on the internet and found Dr. Christine Woodford. When I took Izzy for her first appointment she walked out a happier dog. Two more appointments and Izzy had a new life! I make sure to follow through with the exercises Dr. Christine gave us and bring Izzy for periodic maintenance. Dr. Christine gave Izzy a new life with her "magic fingers".

Susan Kedley

Blaze and AmyBlaze is a 14 year old, all around grade pony. This summer, Blaze seemed off. His lope wasn't as smooth as usual and he was hitting poles on the left side. I heard about Dr. Christine and thought I would try chiropractic. His lope smoothed up and he stopped hitting poles. He even won the FFA pole bending class at the Iowa State Fair and ran a quicker time than he has ever before! Blaze seemed happier too, like he felt better and looked forward to working. I have continued with the neck and leg stretches, fingers on the side of withers and pulling at an angle on his tail. Thanks Dr. Christine!

Amy Turner

Before Treatment

After 2nd Treatment

Dan and Jody Smicker,
owners of Smicker Hamps and Downs.

We became concerned after our purebred Southdown ram was injured in an apparent "altercation" with another ram. His back was humped and out of line at about a 45-degree angle. He was having difficulty walking. A friend of ours recommended Dr. Woodford as the doctor had treated her horse. We were quite concerned regarding our ability to use the ram for breeding purposes. After the first treatment consisting of a chiropractic adjustment, acupuncture and Magna Wave, he seemed more comfortable, and his back was quite a bit straighter. After the third treatment, he is doing so much better that we have now turned him out in the pasture for this breeding season.

Thank you Dr. Woodford!

We had been to 4 different vets and they had all told us, Zoi our 6 year old Maltese would never walk again. In November 2012 Zoi started acting stoved up and stiff, within two days she went from stiff to not being able to move her back legs. We had multiple xrays, and a MRI done, with no results. The vets told us they could either put her down for us, or we could take her home but she would never walk. We heard about Dr. Christine from a friend and decided to take a chance. Zoi has been going to her since Jan 2013 and in the first few sessions we could tell she had more movement in her tail. After 4 weeks, Zoi was standing and could move one back leg. After 6 weeks she could take a few steps before she would fall. Now at 8 weeks she is officially WALKING! We are so excited and are very thankful to Dr. Christine, without her Zoi would never have been able to walk again.

Jalene and Zoi

Lauren and Phil

PhilA few years ago while hiking, I heard my 4 year old Vizsla yelp and come back to me hobbling on 3 legs. I rested him for a week and a half and when he did not fully recover, I suspected a cruciate rupture. I took him to my veterinarian and she did all the tests to conclude his knee was fine. I was still noticing a minor gait abnormality in his movement. Still concerned about an injury, I took him to ISU for an appointment with an orthopedist. The orthopedist could not diagnose anything wrong with Phil. He sent in a neurologist to look at him and after spending 3 hours with him, walking up and down the halls, up and down stairs, turning circles, etc., he concluded he most likely had a lumbar spinal injury. He suggested I get an MRI and a myelenectomy which "could help or may make it worse." I would be spending almost $2000 to give my dog surgery on an undiagnosed condition that may have made him worse. No thanks. I opted to contact Dr. Woodford and bring Phil in for acupuncture. After Phil's first appointment, I noticed immediately that his gait abnormality was gone. After 2 visits he was looking better than ever. I can now notice in Phil's gait when he is in need of a chiropractic or acupuncture adjustment. It is almost a night and day difference in his general attitude, appetite, sleep quality, and movement after every appointment with Dr. Christine. I am so glad I opted for this method of allowing the body to heal itself, rather than a drastic and expensive surgery. Phil is 7 years old now and still acts like a teenager. I am so glad that with Dr. Christine's help I have been able to keep my best friend feeling his best. †

Kelly and Lucy, the Rocky Mountain Gaited Horse

Kelly and Lucy Dr. Christine adjusted my Rocky Mountain Horse, Lucy, at 3G Stables in Ames. Lucy slipped going down a hill on a trail ride in August and strained her right chest/shoulder. A month later Lucy appeared sound and had been working well, But I still didn't think she was back to herself yet. The chiropractic adjustment made a big difference in her. When I got home she was playful and mischievous. I thought she was walking better. I knew for sure when my husband Kelly saw her that afternoon and said her walk is back. She has this free moving panther-like walk and that's what had been missing. I think it really shows how important chiropractic adjustment can be. To anyone looking at her she looked and moved normal and was willing to do her job. But it was obvious she needed your expertise and has regained greater flexibility and comfort. This journey with you has shown me how valuable chiropractic can be with your horse who may not be showing any outward signs of pain or discomfort. Just think if Lucy and I did something competitive, we'd have an edge!Thanks so much for doing what you do.

Take care, Ginny Montgomery

Susan and Molly

MollyI†have known Dr. Woodford from when she previously worked with Dr. Abraham.

Knowing that she now practiced Chiropractic and Acupuncture, when our 6 year old, rescue Boston Terrier, Molly, needed help, I called Dr. Woodford. Molly was not socialized properly as a youngster and gets leary and worried about strangers. Initially, she was worried, but by the time Dr. Christine finished with her treatment, Molly was happy and so incredibly relaxed.

Her treatment was about 3 weeks ago. The chiropractic treatment helped her leg so much that she is sound again. The acupunture treatment made her so relaxed that she slept the rest of the day. The next day Molly was back to normal activity but her attitude is still much more relaxed than prior to the acupuncture treatment.

Yesterday, I took my Lab for a chiropractic adjustment and acupuncture treatment. Interestingly, when we returned, Molly sniffed wildly and excitedly asked "when am I going to see Aunt Dr. Christine?"

Thank you very much, Dr. Christine! †

Susan Haupt

Becky and Sheís Fancy and Famous

Becky and Shes Fancy and Famous Famous Horse Farm shows all-around performance horses. Sheís Fancy and Famous, "Sadie" and White Silk Stockings, "Lucy" have both benefitted from treatment by Dr. Christine.†

Sadie was having loping issues and Dr. Christine injected her hocks and it really improved her lope! She also gave us some exercises to do with Sadie to strengthen her back and keep her in top competitive shape.

Lucy had some soreness at a show and we sought out Dr. Christine. After a chiropractic and Magna Wave session Lucy was feeling much better. We are thankful for the expertise and special care we recieve from Dr. Christine. She even gave us some pointers for the trail class!

Famous Horse Farm
George and Becky Maurer

Jane Wickler and Nubby

Jane and NubbyA stiff, old Lady, owned by a stiff, old Lady

I work at PetSmart in Dubuque and have a lot of dealings with the Jackson County Humane Society. In September of 2011, the president invited me to see their facility. When we got to the quarantine kennels, I met "her." She was a 9 year old German Boxer who had been a breeder for some bad pet parents. Her body was so disfigured. Her nipples were longer than my fingers. The only word to describe them were "udders." She had been unable to stop bleeding after her last litter of puppies and was dumped on the street. When I met her, she still had blood running out of her. As if that wasn't enough, she had no fur on her backside from untreated allergies. I adopted her immediately. When I describe her to people, I tell them honestly, she was the most God-awful looking dog I had ever seen. I didn't even know if she liked other dogs (I had 2), cats (I had 2) or if she could walk steps (I live on the 2nd†floor) but that didn't matter. She was now mine. I named her Anika which mean sweetness of face.

I've switched to calling her Nubby since then. The fact that her "nubby" of a tail never stops, is what people notice most about her. In Fall of 2012 I attended a seminar given by Dr. Woodford regarding canine chiropractic and a "light-bulb" went off. I'm an "old girl" with stiff joints and I see a chiropractor. Why shouldn't Nubby? The next day, Dr. Woodford called to let me know she had a cancellation and could get Nubby in. For the first few treatments, she only had chiropractic as we improved her movement.

Then we added acupuncture and magnawave to improve her overall health. The improvement has been nothing short of amazing. At 10 Ĺ years old now, Nubby's visits to work always bring forth comments about how great she looks and moves. †At home she used to go up one step at a time, now she runs up them along with her siblings who are 1/10 her age. As I stand behind her, I think that even her Nubby tail moves easier....†

Jane Wickler

Eric and Tuffy

Eric and TuffyHel On Socks, aka "Tuffy" is a six year old Quarter Horse. We raised him and Eric trained him. Tuffy is out of a full sister to a gelding that Eric ran and won many barrel races on. I purchased Tuffy's sire in South Dakota as a weanling and won some money on him.

† As the majority of barrel horses do, Tuffy got a little sore. We have always made sure Tuffy and our other competitive horses feel their best by using chiropractic, acupunture and magnawave. During one of those treatments Dr. Christine noticed a response to a "hock point" in one of Tuffys hocks and told us to keep an eye on it. As Tuffy progressed this spring Eric felt it was time to address the hock soreness with some injections. Dr. Christine injected him and we followed up with chiropractic treatment.†

On July 5, at the Big J Barrel Blast in Waterloo, Tuffy and Eric experienced their first win at a big show (182 other competitors). We are thankful to have Dr. Christine and her talents as part of our team!

Carla Baumgartner

Annette and Chase

Annette and ChaseIn March of 2012, our 13 year old Maltese / Miniature Schnauzer dog, Chance, started experiencing problems walking with his hind legs. His legs would slide apart when he would stand. He started walking with a "hump back" and he was obviously experiencing discomfort.

We took him to our local vet. After x-ray and evaluation, our vet stated the area of Chanceís spine where the rib cage support of the spine ends and his hips begin, was arthritic.† In his expert opinion, Chance was experiencing sciatica type nerve pain which was causing him to lose sensation in his hind legs. The only option our vet suggested was regular usage of Rimadyl. I wasnít willing to give, or keep Chance on this drug, so I asked our vet if he thought Chiropractic care would benefit Chance. Our local vet said it was definitely worth a try.† He gave me the name of a veterinarian he had gone to school with.

Christine Woodford, DVM was his former classmate. I immediately gave Christine a call and she was able to see Chance within a week of his diagnosis. Christine gave Chance a chiropractic, acupuncture, and magnawave treatment two times the first week. After the second treatment there was IMMEDIATE improvement. Chance then had a weekly treatment with Christine for the next couple of weeks, and he began taking the Petthrive product Christine carries. Within a month, Chance was back to normal, and has never experienced a return of his original symptoms.

We continue to take Chance for treatment with Christine about every 6-8 weeks, because we believe it promotes his overall health. Chance will be 15 years old in October 2013. He even keeps up with his 7 year old dog sibling, Lucy Lou.

We have recommended Christine to friends who have used her services for their fur babies.† They have realized the same success as Chance has.

I 100% recommend Christineís services, simply because THEY WORK!

Annette Kunde
Strawberry Point, IA

Loper and Stacie

Stacey and LoperMy 9 year old APHA gelding, Chex N Checkers (a.k.a. Loper) responded very well to Magna Wave therapy.† I show him in All Around events so his days at the show are long. †Loper tends to get tight and sore in his right shoulder, especially on the first day of a show. †Lunging and riding the heck out of him is not the answer to working through his issues. †The Magna Wave treatment seemed to really relax him both mentally and physically. †He was freer moving after the initial treatment. Loper was in the best mood I had seen him in, in a long time. I was excited to see this and plan to use the Magna Wave therapy to prepare for future shows.†

After Memorial Day, I am a big believer in Magnawave. My horse has never been that relaxed and he did awesome!!!!!! We were Circuit Champion in Am HUS and reserve Circuit Champion in Open HUS!"


Choju and Jennifer

Choju and JenniferIn December, 2011, Choju, our almost 3 year old Akita, had been been out playing with my husband.† There was some light snow on the ground, but the walks were cleared.† She ran up the deck steps to go inside in a hurry for that treat she knew she would get.† Halfway up the steps, her back legs slipped and she ended up hitting both legs on the† steps, the left one hard enough that she didn't put weight on it for a few minutes.† We took her into our traditional vet and after x-rays, she was given anti-inflammatory medication.† This helped while she was on them, but she clearly wasn't improving quickly. Choju does agility, and we skipped her workouts until she was off the medication.† Then we started her out slowly, but she was not able to jump and even going up and down inclines were painful for her.

Then we went to a seminar at Pawsitive Paws Academy, where Choju trains.† Dr. Christine gave a presentation on how Chiropractic care can help performance dogs.† After that, I made an appointment for Dr Christine to see Choju.† This was about 4 months after her accident.† After one chiropractic and magnawave treatment, we saw noticeable improvement in Choju.† She was not as stiff and moving better.†† Dr. Christine gave us stretches to do with her to help her improve.† Then we came back 2 more times, again seeing some improvement, but not†the improvement†Dr Christine wanted.† Dr. Christine then added acupuncture to her treatment and finally Choju was making steady progress.† We have done monthly treatments progressing to maintenance treatments every 6 - 8 weeks.

† As she started her recovery, we needed to†strengthen her muscle tone and we†started Fit Paws training at Pawsitive Paws Academy to build up her core and leg muscles.† After she learned to balance on the equipment, she has shown steady improvement.† Her muscles are stronger than they were and she has learned better balance.† She has started her Agility workouts again and is stronger than before she was hurt.† Working with Dr Christine and with the trainers at Pawsitive Paws Academy, our beautiful Akita is back to full strength and full activity.† I am so happy that†I went to that seminar and I found Dr. Christine.† I would recommend her to anyone looking to keep their pets in top shape!

Jennifer Hunt

BreezeRoiThe Vespermans and their Cowboy Mounted Shooting Horses
"We first met Dr. Christine in the early summer 2010 after a friend from our Mounted Shooting Horse club recommended her to us for our horses. Initially Dr. Christine worked on our son's mare Breeze. Breeze at the time was a 10 year old very athletic mare; we had Chiropractic work done on her in the past but just were not seeing results so we made an appointment with Dr. Woodford. After the first treatment Breeze responded wonderfully and we saw large improvement in her movement and attitude. Later that summer Breeze was very stiff in a hind leg; we again made an appointment to have Dr. Christine adjust her but this time was different. Dr. Woodford noticed a change in Breeze that she felt needed to be looked at with x-rays etc. She put us in touch with a specialist in this area the next day. Breeze had a soft tissue injury in her right stifle that required an anti-inflammatory joint injection to heal. Thank God Dr. Woodford noticed it was more than a Chiropractic treatment needed at that time. Breeze healed completely, and remains in excellent health and shape by routine, chiropractic treatments by Dr. Christine.

Reo (pictured above) is another one of our Shooting horses that would not compete at the level she does without regular chiropractic treatments by Dr. Woodford. Click to learn more about the Cowboy Mounted Shooting Association.

Our horses are not only used in Cowboy Mounted Shooting, they also are used for pleasure riding at home. Keeping them healthy by using Veterinary Integrative Performance Services by Dr. Christine Woodford has enabled our horses to perform better and I believe be happier companions/partners."
The Vespermans

Franklin Jeff and Franklin

We have a 9 year old mixed breed dog named Franklin that has been treated by Dr. Christine Woodford at VIPsvet. Franklin's initial issue was a significant periodic limp from his right front leg that started in the spring of 2012. The approach was 4-fold: acupuncture, magnawave, prescribed stretching exercises (during office visits and daily at home) and the herb Protandim.

We have witnessed an impressive improvement in the last 6 weeks with the limp nearly invisible. Which of the 4 approaches produced this wonderful improvement is anyone's guess. However, it should be stated that about 8 weeks ago, in addition to the other 3 approaches, we strengthened our commitment to a steady dose (1/2 tablet/day) of the Protandim without missing a day. Perhaps the Protandim herb needed that much time to take effect on Franklin's system.

The important thing is that the results are very visible and we appreciate your professional service.

AmyAnn and Amy
"We are so grateful to Dr. Christine for saving our dog's life. Last fall, our vibrant and energetic, 8 year old Border Collie, Amy, had become very weak. She was not steady on her feet, could not walk up or down stairs, and had to be fed lying down. Her head was tilted to one side and was stuck in that position. Her quality of life was declining and it broke our hearts seeing her this way. We thought of having her put down if she didn't improve. A friend suggested we find a chiropractic veterinarian to treat her. I did an internet search and found Dr. Christine and made an appointment. Dr. Christine's techniques helped Amy and improved her quality of life in one session. Amy regained her strength, could walk well, and could move her head. It was a miracle. She was no longer a sick dog. She now is able to run and play like she used to. We continue with monthly maintenance treatments to keep Amy feeling good. Dr. Christine, thank you so much for bringing our precious dog back to life."

My name is Elyse Buysse and I am 15 years old. My horse AJ is a 7 year old buckskin gelding. This is my 5th year of showing horses. This winter I participated in the Kirkwood Community College Student Saddle Club Winter Series horse shows at the Iowa Equestrian Center sponsored by Abraham's Equine Clinic. There were 5 shows that I went to competing for a new saddle. I almost didn't get to go to 2 of the shows, but I wound up getting to go and it all paid off in the end. At the last show I was only winning by only 2 points on the first day and by the second day I was ahead by 6 points. We had a pretty good day our 2nd day and I wound up winning the saddle by 17 points. It was a great feeling to win something like that. I had great support from my family, my trainer and her family, and from friends that I had met through showing at these shows.

Last winter AJ had a really bad leg injury and was given a very small chance of ever walking again and an even smaller chance of riding or showing again. Christine Woodford used magna wave therapy and acupuncture on him to help him heal. This winter I showed at the Iowa Equestrian Center winter horse show series and at the 4th show we noticed that he was having trouble eating and he was not acting himself. When I went up to the show ring for western classes he was acting really mad and was throwing a fit, it seemed like he was in pain. We looked at his mouth and felt his teeth, which were really sharp. We talked to Christine and she came over to our stalls to check them out. After the last day of the show she floated his teeth and after that you could see a huge difference in the way he acted and ate, he was a happy horse again.

Thank you for the wonderful support from Wilson Performance Horses for your great instruction and guidance keeping AJ and I fit, trained, and performing our best. Thank you Dr. Christine Woodford for making AJ feel better. Thanks to the Kirkwood Saddle Club for putting on the fun winter open shows and Dr. Charles Abraham for donating an awesome saddle!

Our dog Olive, a mix of Poodle and Shih Tzu, was almost 13 years old before receiving a combination of chiropractic care and Petthrive soft chews. After having had the chiropractic care and Petthrive, she seems more like 13 years young. Her mobility, disposition, and energy level have noticeably improved. It is our intention to continue these treatments due to their positive results. Kathy Conlon

Dr. Gina and Ritz

Three years ago, I purchased a rescued OTTB who had been retrained as a hunter. When Ritz was delivered to the stable, we all were taken aback by this skeletal patchwork of a 16.3 Thoroughbred that carefully backed out of the trailer. Never wasting resources, the stable owner had Ritz saddled immediately and put through a short course of simple jumps to assess the new arrival. What Ritz showed us was physically, he was lacking; but mentally he was engaged, obedient, and willing. I fell in love and bought him that week. I slowly increased his diet with high quality hay, a pelleted protein feed, equine senior, and supplements. Past racing injuries and conformational imperfections would expose themselves through sore legs, late changes, and deteriorating work ethic. I tried hock injections, laser therapy, chiropractic, and sacral steroid injections. Nothing really lasted. Through a friend, I heard about Dr. Woodford, and how she could resurrect the most hopeless cases of equine lameness. Dr. Woodford's countenance with my usually over-reactive TB was so calm and reassuring. Ritz took to her immediately. Her examination was thorough and the first treatment lasted nearly an hour and a half! Her recommendations included a twice weekly lunge with increasing time on a neck stretcher to develop Ritz's absent topline. She taught me how to perform various stretches for Ritz's shoulders, legs, and neck. Within one month, Ritz was going with much more fluidity and suppleness. Within 3 months, his topline was vastly improved and his sacral soreness disappeared. Truly, Dr. Woodford's treatments and prescriptions for maintenance were extremely effective. Just the other day, she visited Ritz for an acupuncture treatment and his condition was so good, she decided he didn't need the acupuncture this time. She is professional, knowledgeable, and punctual. I would recommend her to anyone who has grown frustrated with traditional injections as a means of maintaining chronic equine lameness.

Gina Sparacino

We first brought our 8 year old English bulldog, Ginger to Dr. Woodford in May of 2012. Our main concern at that point was her mobility. She suffers from arthritis and was limping and seemed to be in some discomfort. Our vet, Dr. Bergfeld suggested Dr. Woodford's medical expertise.

At our first meeting Dr. Woodford did a thorough exam. We discussed Ginger's other health issues including seasonal allergies. On that first visit we did it all, chiropractic adjustment, acupuncture and magnawave therapy. Ginger tolerated it all extremely well.

We went home hoping to see some improvement in her mobility. We were amazed as Ginger's health improved in all areas. Not only was she more mobile, her energy level increased and her breathing improved significantly. After her treatments she practically jumps into the car. She enjoys playing and running around the farm again.

The acupuncture has helped with her allergies. She does not need as much medication as in previous years. She breathes easier and sleeps more soundly at night. In fact, her snoring has diminished. This is a benefit to the whole family!

Dr. Woodford's expertise and treatments have given Ginger a new lease on life. We are extremely grateful and would highly recommend her services. Ginger agrees.

With appreciation, Deb Burgess

Satuday, October 27, 2012 was last Sort and Pen event for the season at Shelbyville, MO. Buckles were awarded for the fastest time of the night and it just so happened that the team that won were all 3 horses that Dr. Christine Woodford works on and keeps in good form. Fastest time on 3 head was 26 seconds and the buckles were awarded to Caitlin Conlon-Beckner from Macomb, IL, Doug Shelabarger from Manito, IL, and Lala O'Hara from Burlington, IA. There were almost 70 teams participating and the slowest time in the money was 33 seconds. Thanks Dr. Christine for keeping our horses in great shape for penning and sorting, our horses thank you too!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks to God too!!!

Theresa Wilson and CH KOTUR'S Riche and Royale I did it! I bred the most competitive conformation French Bulldog I'd seen in years in just two generations. KOTUR's Riche and Royale is as close to the written standard as any Frenchie I've seen. He has a classic head, substantial bone, the perfect Frenchie silhouette, and beautiful movement. I knew when he was an eight week old puppy that this was my national specialty competition dog.

In one unthinking moment, when he was a seven month old pup Royale slipped and severely wrenched his back while I was considerately washing off his fanny in kitchen sink. Although I knew something was wrong, the damage was not immediately apparent. Later that day, the local vet misdiagnosed Royale with stomach upset. At 3:30 AM I packed him up and headed for the specialist four hours north.

Royale had all the classic signs of a severe back injury. Conventional treatment consists of enforced rest, anti-inflammatory drugs, pain medication, muscle relaxants, and tranquilizers to keep the dog quietly resting. We followed this protocol for 16 weeks. Then, Royale could walk but was chronically lame and sore compensating for the pain in his back. I was determined to explore alternative treatment to get this dog sound again. I remembered speaking to a woman at a local show that operated a canine fitness center. I found her card and made contact.

Mary and Mark Erschen, owners of FidoFit in Dubuque took up my quest to get Royale fit again. Mary detailed a strengthening routine and connected me to Dr. Christine Woodford, certified animal chiropractic and acupuncture, who makes routine visits to see canine patients at FidoFit.

I was blown away by Royale's response to our very session with Dr. Woodford. Her use of the powerful combination of chiropractic adjustment, muscle work, acupuncture and the magna wave provided immediate results. Royale limped into FidoFit and trotted out bearing weight equally on all fours. It was obvious to me that these synergistic treatments were the ticket to relieving his pain and restoring function.

Mary supported Royale's recovery by teaching him to swim and do the strengthening exercises. Dr. Woodford worked her magic using all the tools in her wellness repertoire. Royale got stronger and stronger.

Long story short, I've attached one of the photos of Royale's recent wins at French Bulldog Club of America's National Specialty show under esteemed judge Michelle Billings taken in Portland OR. Royale swept the Bred-By-Exhibitor classes under two different judges and was awarded the coveted Best Bred-By-Exhibitor dog in show!

No one in Portland could truly appreciate these wins like our team at VIP and FidoFit! I am so grateful we found Dr. Christine and Mary and Mark Erschen to help us achieve these prestigious wins, competing with the best French Bulldogs in the country. Do I look proud of this beautiful dog?

More importantly, Royale is the perfect example of what having the right intention, doing the right therapy, combined with the right strengthening work can do for a severely injured dog. Thank you, thank you, thank you, Dr. Christine for your help in restoring this beautiful dog back (pun intended) to his full potential!

Photo by TF Event PhotographyTwo years ago I was having some problems with my barrel horse, Orville. I came to Dr. Christine and she treated him with chiropractic and acupuncture. It really helped him to relax, stretch and help pin point some other issues. He was working well and feeling great. I wanted to keep his great attitude and winning streak. I bring Orville in monthly to keep him feeling and working to his fullest potential. When Dr. Christine purchased the magnawave I incorporated it into our monthly maintenance. I believe the magnawave is his favorite! After a treatment, I drop the lead rope and his head is down and he is almost sleeping!!!

There are times when I am on the road for weeks at a time. I can tell when Orville gets sore, his performance decreases and we do not win prize money. One phone call and a visit later, he is back winning again! Dr. Woodford is a huge part of our success in the WPRA. I am currently leading the Women's Professional Rodeo Association, Great Lakes Circuit and it couldn't be done without Dr. Woodford's expertise! Orville has proven to me that monthly and sometimes more treatments are a huge part of my success. Horses can't give their all if they aren't feeling 100%.

I would not have the success in the IRCA, URA and WPRA without the help and expertise of Dr. Woodford.

Natalie Foutch & "Orville" Maggies MoonFire.
To read more about Natalie and Orville check out the wpra website :

Belle, our 11-year old lab, has been a patient of Dr. Christine's for a few months. When we first took Belle to Dr. Christine, Belle could not walk, stand, or turn around without falling. She had no strength in her back legs due to arthritis.

Thanks to Dr. Christine's chiropractic, acupuncture and magnawave treatments, Belle is once again able to do the things she loves to do--going on road trips and enjoying walks in the park. Belle's quality of life is the life of a lab; exploring new sights and smells and accompanying us (her pack) on our adventures. Belle enjoys her therapy and is very calm during her visits due to the calm, nurturing nature of Dr. Christine.

Recently Belle injured her shoulder and was unable to put any weight on her left front leg. Dr. Christine treated Belle's shoulder with acupuncture and magnawave. After the therapy, Belle was able to walk better and return to her daily routine.

In addition, we purchased the Help 'Em Up Harness ( to assist us when Belle has difficulty getting up from the floor. The front handle and hip lift make it easy to for us to get Belle in and out of the car or up and down the steps while alleviating physical stress on us and Belle.

We are thrilled with the results Belle has achieved from Dr. Christine's therapy. It is wonderful to see Belle actively enjoying her days as she did before arthritis limited her mobility.

Jackie and Rick Mason

Hey Christine,

Just wanted to thank you for the chiropractic treatment you gave Evan earlier this week. Got to ride him for the first time since our visit and he was FANTASTIC! I didn't have to do any of my usual tricks to keep him balanced. And, since he was more balanced he seemed more relaxed. So, despite the wind rattling everything around, he didn't spook once. And, he was very quick to round up and get to work. During our whole ride he was stretching down and reaching for the bit. It normally takes at least 45 minutes to get him there and he was responding as soon as I picked up the reins. It even seemed like he was moving his shoulders differently. It felt like he was reaching more out in front of him. He even rounded during his canter. He's NEVER done that. Its something I've been fighting with him about all Winter. Honestly, he just felt like a whole new horse.

Since the only thing I've done new this week is bring him over to you, I'm assuming you must be to thank for my thoroughly enjoyable ride this morning.

Thanks Again!

- Katherine

Christine, Thank you, thank you, thank you! What a difference you made in our little guy Buddy. Buddy is a 2-year-old Schnoodle who had a nervous tick for the last month. He moved his head up and down in rapid movements. Our regular vet suggest we bring Buddy to a chiropractor, that he might have a pinched nerve. After one treatment, what an incredible difference we've seen in him. He was so very relaxed when we left your office and for the rest of that evening. He's not doing his nervous tick thing and his whole demeanor has changed for the better. I truly believe whatever you did helped our Buddy and we WILL be back.

Kim B - Buddy's mommy

We have been perplexed for the last year or so with a very talented young western pleasure horse that would occasionally exhibit a "short" or "lazy" step at the jog. We had his hocks and stifles x-rayed and even sent off to a specialist. Nothing physically could be found to explain this way of going. Even after a flexion test, he would trot off just pretty as you please. We finally contacted Dr. Christine Woodford and had her look at him. She found his hip to be out and some vertebrae in his back that needed some adjusting. Coincidentally, at this very same time, I also happened to talk to someone that had this same condition on one of their horses. It actually was corrected by a training technique that encouraged them to "march" into the trot. Two days after Dr. Christine's adjustment, we tried this training technique and the "short" step was gone! It evidently was a "habit" that he had developed, but of course that habit would have affected his spinal alignment. Two weeks later, we took him to a large open show and he had two firsts and two seconds in western pleasure classes that ranged in size from 25-45 entries! I'm become a believer that training and chiropractic care work hand in hand in developing a top-notch prospect.

Sue Voss
Voss Quarter Horses

LilyThanks to Dr. Woodford's chiropractic care and acupuncture treatments our dog Lily did not have to have major spinal surgery. Regular chiropractic and acupuncture treatments have improved Lily's quality of life and her disposition. We have peace of mind knowing that Lily feels better and is getting the care she needs to stay health.

Ernie & Betty Smith


Copyright © 2008 - 2013 Veterinary Integrative Performance Inc.,   All Rights Reserved
Designed and maintained by Belinda Jones at Galloping Winds.

Home | About Dr. Christine | Client Testimonials | Acupuncture | Chiropractic | CHINESE HERBS | Articles | Links | Directions | Contact

Copyright © 2008 - 2010 Veterinary Integrative Performance Inc.,   All Rights Reserved
Designed and maintained by Belinda Jones at Galloping Winds.
Hosted by Galloping Winds Internet Services: